The Influence of Others

Day Nine is about influence or people who influence. I am listing ten people who have influenced me and how. This will probably be one of the trickier posts I have to write. To me, an influence is something that another person is or does that affects the way I live, love, and learn life. If these people weren’t in my life I’m not quite sure what kind of person I would be right now.

1. Pam

Pam is my mother’s older sister. She’s an independent and strong woman who raised three boys and went on to being the Lab Tech in Vanderbilt hospital. There are people who say they support me, but Aunt Pam has been the one who has given me courage to do the things I’ve done. In my younger years I would go visit and play her piano, talk about books, and watch her paint. I’ve always admired her for her intelligence and beauty. She’s just got this personality about her that is magnetic and I wish I could spend more time with her. Granted most of my immediate family doesn’t get along with her, she’s proud of me and what I’ve accomplished in life. In that, I am grateful.

2. Jesse

Now this post would probably be pointless if I didn’t have him in it. Jesse has helped mold me into a more sadistic smartass than I ever was. He’s taught me not to take shit from people who aren’t worth a second glance. He holds firm in his beliefs that humans are stupid and I completely agree with him. Though he does like to go off into extremely long rants about anything that pushes his asshole button, I still love him.

3. Sky

My best friend, my soul mate, my sister. We’ve been close for so long that we’ve developed that kind of relationship where we don’t have to speak to one another for months and just pick back up right where we left off. She has her life and I have mine, but that doesn’t mean we grow apart. That’s what I love about us. Amber has taught me about a different part of life that I know I can’t live. She’s so grounded and peaceful I think sometimes my negative chaos sends her world asunder when we’re together. Her main influence on me has been mostly music. I don’t listen to half the things I do if she hasn’t found it first. From Concrete Blonde to Tori Amos, she has given me the best routes to the music that moves my soul. And for that, I thank you my Caroline.

4. Tori Amos

(Thank you, Amber, for putting this woman in my life. Lol) Tori is a goddess on a higher level than any other woman I know of. She’s beautiful, talented, intelligent, and crazy as fuck and I love that. She has mainly influenced my musical abilities in life. If it weren’t for her I wouldn’t be as dedicated to the piano as I am now.

5. My Dad

My father has attributed to my attitude as I have grown. Granted, Jesse has helped with that, but not compared to my dad. He’s always being a complete asshole. He takes pride in being so sarcastic and douchey, but he’s funny when he does it. If one of his children mess up he tells us, “Stop fuckin’ up! What the hell is wrong with your common sense?” On top of being a truck driver for twenty three years, he supports my sister and her babies though he doesn’t have to. Thanks to him, I’m not afraid to tell people how it really is. If you’re being a dumbass, I will MORE than gladly tell you so.

6. My Mom

Who said influence had to be completely good? Okay, my mother is not a bad person at all. She just has her quirks that I’ve inherited. She’s always the first to think of something bad. Imagine doing something good or getting excited news, now imagine someone saying,” Oh, you’re not gonna like that. It’s too dangerous. No one will like that if you go.” Yeah, she’s THAT person. I know she’s gonna read this someday, but I’m an honest person. She’s taught me that too. Now I’m not the first to kill the mood, my mind is. I NEVER say anything aloud without thinking about it first.

7. JK Rowling

Now come on. Did you think I could write this post without putting this amazing woman in here? Of course not. She’s the reason I write. She’s the reason I have the courage to be who I am today by writing those wonderful adventures of Harry.

8. Johnette Napolitano

This woman is known for being the singer for Concrete Blonde, also her silky alto voice. Good Goddess, this woman can make you just melt with the melodies that emanate from her lips. Johnette has influenced my singing more than anything. All those years in choir I was a soprano 1 (that’s pretty much the highest not hitters in a choir), so I was sad that I couldn’t sing JUST like her. Nonetheless I wouldn’t be deterred and I kept singing with her music. There’s one song that Sky and I sing together and I actually doesn’t sound like we’re doing whatever: Mexican Moon. Thank you, Johnette, for helping me get over my fear of singing in front of others and using emotion where it’s due.

9. Laurell K. Hamilton

If two things go together in my mind, it’s Concrete Blonde and Laurell K. Hamilton. I don’t know what it is, but I started reading Laurell’s books when I first discovered Concrete Blonde’s Bloodletting album. The two seemed to fit perfectly. So take this little bit of advice: If you’re gonna read any of her books, listen to Concrete Blonde while you do it. Anywho, this influence is also about my writing. I really learned how to write a good sex scene thanks to her. Lol. She has written the Anita Blake series and the Merry Gentry series along with a few books and short stories on the side. She’s a good person in general when it comes to her fans. She listens and talks to them like they’re good friends. I can only hope to be as kind as her one day.

10. Mother Nature

Yes, I know Mother Nature isn’t a person. I…..don’t really care. People put a personality to something and it turns into what they believe it is. Like God. Anyway, Nature has influenced who I am entirely when it comes to my soul. I want to be strong like the Oak roots, light as the air, fierce as the fire, and quick as the stream. I try my best to be like those things. I want my life to be a balance. You can’t have the good without the bad really, and we all know this. We have to accept it and I found it easier to accept with the help of the earth.

So there are my influences. I’ve actually written this over the course of a few days so I don’t really know if it makes sense to many, but, eh, I don’t care.

)0(

Leave a Reply

