Dinner with a Corpse?

We all have our past heroes and idols that we learn about growing up. The great Benjamin Franklin, George Washington, Abe Lincoln. Standard important historical figures right? So why wouldn’t anyone want to have dinner with them? I’m assuming I have to post that they would be up and about and breathing. Soooo…..I chose Carl Sagan.

For those who do not know who Carl Sagan is, you’re a sad human being. Here’s the short wiki bio:

Carl Edward Sagan (play /ˈsɡən/; November 9, 1934 – December 20, 1996) was an American astronomer, astrophysicist, cosmologist, author, science popularizer and science communicator in astronomy and natural sciences. He spent most of his career as a professor of astronomy at Cornell University where he directed the Laboratory for Planetary Studies. He published more than 600 scientific papers[2] and articles and was author, co-author or editor of more than 20 books. He advocated scientifically skeptical inquiry and the scientific method, pioneered exobiology and promoted the Search for Extra-Terrestrial Intelligence (SETI).

My mom used to put on PBS and I would go to sleep listening to his voice. This man knew so much about astronomy and astrophysics that I almost couldn’t keep up. He made me realize how much more there is out there. Made me think about religion and life and all sorts of other things. He inspired me to want to know more about our universe and take a look at what is out beyond our solar system. It’s just insane to me how epic we are in the universe. He’s the one who started it. The one who brought me to realize how important I am in the cosmos.

Carl_Sagan_Planetary_Society

So what would we talk about? The everything, of course. What’s outside of our human sight. Farther than the most visible star. Just to sit with him for an hour. That would be the best thing ever. I’ll leave you with a couple of things that brought me to tears when I saw them. He’s my inspiration to my rationality.

Carl-Sagan-quote-04

Leave a Reply

