Oldest City Part 1 Animals!

For our honeymoon, Jesse and I went to St. Augustine, Florida.

Is that not absolutely beautiful?

Is that not absolutely beautiful?

Oh. My. God.

I had never ever ever been to the ocean in my 23 years of existence. I was not disappointed. We arrived at the hotel around 1 a.m. so I only caught glimpses of the bay when we passed over the long ass bridge. The town itself was very well lit even that late at night and I got to see the lighthouse and cross the beautiful Lion Bridge (pictured above). Our hotel was right on the beach. I could hear the waves when we got out of the car and it was windy as hell. The best thing of all that night? Jesse walked me halfway to the water and you could see so many stars! I saw a tiny shooting star streak across the sky and my heart almost exploded. It was just so magical standing there holding his hand in the middle of the night on a beach.

The next morning we went to the Alligator Farm on Anastasia Island where we were staying. Jesse had been to St. Augustine when he was younger and said wonderful things about it. He wasn’t wrong when he said it was awesome. Now being from the south, I’ve seen the usual alligators and swamp creatures, but I don’t think I’ve seen so many in one spot.

I called them dragons, but most people call them crocodiles.

I called them dragons, but most people call them crocodiles.

Fat, lazy dragons.

Fat, lazy dragons.

Here's an actual dragon we saw.

Here’s an actual dragon we saw.

They had this one exhibit honoring the biggest croc they had at the zoo. I mean he was frickin monstrous. They named him Gomek and he was brought from Papua New Guinea. There was a life sized model of him in the middle of this room.

Look at dude's face on the TV. Hehehehe.

Look at dude’s face on the TV. Hehehehe.

Here are his measurements. 17 ft 9 in. Almost a ton

Here are his measurements. 17 ft 9 in. Almost a ton

There was so much beautiful wildlife and so much to see. It was a lot bigger than what I had originally guessed. Also, quite a few Buddha statues sitting around. Here are more photos.

319085_4129004058362_784592263_n

So. Many. Gators!

So. Many. Gators!

Lazy Lemur? or dead Lemur? Okay it's just lazy.

Lazy Lemur? or dead Lemur? Okay it’s just lazy.

 

39295_4129004258367_1804364242_n10292_4129004498373_1567716928_n

 

Leave a Reply

